The Student Training Awards and Recognition Scheme (STARS) is an accreditation scheme designed to recognise well-run, inclusive and fun student groups. There are three standards of awards – Bronze, Silver and Gold – and there are multiple winners for each category.


The Students' Union (SU) Awards reward and recognise the best student groups, campaigns and individuals who have contributed to LSESU over the past year or throughout their time here.


View your 2017 winners below!


Your 2017 Winners 


Campaign Group of the Year

  • The Consent Campaign


Activist of the Year

  • Fathia Begum


Most Innovative Campaign

  • The Gender Project


Undergraduate SSLC Representative

  • Ed Jee

Postgraduate SSLC Representative

  • Helena O'Rourke-Potocki


Best Contribution to Student Fundraising

  • Richard Adkins


Best Fundraising Project/Event

  • RAG Week 2017


Best Halls Event

  • Passfield Hall


Best Halls Committee

  • Northumberland House


Best Collaboration

  • Athletics & Running with Women's Football for their Circuit Sessions


The Inclusivity Award

  • Women's Rugby


Most Improved Club

  • Women’s Football


The AU for All Award

  • Rowing


Club of the Year

  • Athletics and Running


Team of the Year

  • Women’s Fencing 1sts


Sportsperson of the Year

  • Meredydd Rix


Brian Whitworth Award

  • Megan Beddoe



Society of the Year

  • Islamic Society


Best New Society

  • South Asia Society


Best Society Event

  • Student Action for Refugees and United Nations Society


Most Improved Society

  • Hindu Society


Media Group: Best Contributor:

  • Greg Sproston



Outstanding AU Member Awards

Albert Armankona, Rowing | Georgiana Kwok, Taekwondo | Lili Roggenhoffer, Women's Basketball | Su-Yen Cheong, Pole Fitness | Harry Long, Rowing | Lauri Ojala, Athletics Rowing | Thanita Darakananda, Volleyball | Vitaliy Komar, Rowing


Outstanding Society Member

Ajay Shah, Hindu Society | Antonin Boissin, Tea Society | Daniel Mackay, Tea Society | Eleanor Myers, Global Brigades Society | Ella Baggaley Simpson, Penal Reform Society | Faiza Siddiqui, Islamic Society | Harriet Lavin, Penal Reform Society | Jun Feng, Itchy Feet Travel & Backpacking Society | Rebecca Dudley, Intersectional Feminist Society | Saajan Keshwala, Hindu Society | Ushma Shah, India Society | Valentin Wiesner, RAG | Yo-En Chin, TedX Society | Zunair Akbar Jaffrey, Entrepeneurs Society


LSESU: Outstanding Contribution

Akmal Rafiq | Hannah Kearsey | Isabella Bicket | José Agustín de la Puente | Joseph Donaghey | Martha van Bakel | Samantha Pinter-Thompson | Waleed Malik | Zulum Elumogo


LSESU: Honorary Lifetime Member

Amaima Fatima | Fathia Begum | George Bettsworth | Isobel Clare | Meghna Mohanka | Riham Mansour | Jasmina Bidé | Sarah Castellanos | Julia Ryland | Olivia Vaughan | Rahat Siddique | Busayo Twins | Zoe Bennett | Taryana Odayar | Angharad Hopkinson





Your 2017 Winners:



Badminton | Cycling | Jiu Jitsu | Table Tennisl | Taekwondo



Anime and Manga Society | ASEAN | Beekeeping Society | Conservative Society | Czech and Slovak Society | Economics Society | Energy Society | Fashion Society | India Society | International Arbitration Society | Investment Society | Japan Society | Labour Society | Outdoor Adventure Society | Penal Reform | Student Action for Refugees | TedX Society | Visual Arts Society



Cricket | Dance | Men’s Rugby | Netball | Pole Fitness | Ultimate Disc



Debate Society | Board Games Society | Economics Society | Entrepreneurs Society | Gaming Society | Law Society | Music Society | Pride Alliance | Women Leaders of Tomorrow | Baking Society



Athletics & Running | Rowing | Women’s basketball | Women’s Football | Women’s Rugby



AISEC | Hindu Society | Intersectional Feminism Society | Islamic Society | Itchy Feet & Backpacking



More about Societies