Teaching Excellence Awards 2014

With 993 individual submissions and over 450 members of staff nominated – competition was steep in this year’s Student Led Teaching Excellence Awards!


The Teaching Excellence Awards are your way of rewarding fantastic teaching at LSE. The awards enable you as students to define the meaning of excellent teaching and show how it's possible for everyone at LSE to achieve this.



Here’s the list of winners and highly commended nominees.

For full details of the winners and the Teaching Awards Project, read your Education Officer, Rosie Coleman's blog.



Award for Sharing Expertise and Knowledge

Winner: Martin Anthony (Maths Professor)


Award for Collaborative Research and Guidance

Winner: Alexandru Marcoci - (Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method GTA)


Award for Innovative Teaching

Winner: Nick Long (Anthropology Professor)


Award for Excellent Feedback and Communication

Winner: Rosie Coffey (International History GTA)


Award for Inspirational Teaching

Winner: Antoine Paccoud (Geography and Environment Fellow)


LSESU Award for Excellent Welfare and Pastoral Support

Winner: Alicia Mejia (Management Teacher)


LSESU Award for Professional Mentoring and Personal Development

Winner: Devika Hovell (Law Professor)


LSESU Exceptional Contribution to Teaching

Winner: Ulrike Theuekauf (Government Fellow)


Congratulations to all and thanks to every student who nominated!


The Awards Ceremony will be held on Tuesday 27th May




If you have any questions about the Teaching Excellence Awards, email Nicky Pavitt, LSESU Academic Representation Coordinator, at n.k.pavitt@lse.ac.uk