Democracy Committee


Your Democracy Committee has been elected to make sure that democractic processes at LSESU run smoothly and are open to everyone. These include everything from Union General Meetings to Elections. We'll be electing two more members of Democracy Committee in Michaelmas Term!


The committee decides the dates of elections and referenda, chairs the Union General Meetings and acts as the main point of contact for students who have questions about how to get involved with the democratic system. The Returning Officer also sits on the Democracy Committee and deals with any issues or complaints during LSESU’s elections.


Your Democracy Committee 2017–18

Get in touch

Have a question or query for your Democracy Committee? Email:



Zain Hussain


Zain Hussain

Democracy Committee Member

Tamanna Jahan Moushumi


Tamanna Jahan Moushumi

Democracy Committee Member, UGM Chair

Chun Ching Wong


William Chun Ching Wong

Democracy Committee Member, Returning Officer



Rosie Spencer Russell

Democracy Committee Member


Anjali Srinivas

Democracy Committee Member


2017/18 Democracy Dates

Elections: This year's election dates are as follows:


Michaelmas Term

  • Nominations Open: Monday October 2nd
  • Nominations Close: Monday October 16th
  • Campaigning: Wednesday 18th - Thursday 26th October
  • Voting: Tuesday 24th - Thursday 26th October

Lent Term

  • Nominations Open: Monday 5th February
  • Nominations Close: Friday 23rd February
  • Campaigning: Wednesday 28th February - Thursday 8th March
  • Voting: Tuesday 6th - Thursday 8th March

Annual General Meeting

Friday 23rd March - 3pm - 5pm