Skip to content
Students attending an LSESU Welcome event

Trustee Board

The Trustee board has overall responsibility for the legal, strategic and financial health of the Students’ Union, working closely with Senior Management to steer the decisions and activities of the Union.

What do trustees do?


The Trustee Board consists of four Sabbatical Officers, four students and three non-students appointed by the Trustees themselves. 

Alongside being the Chair of the Executive and the line manager of the Chief Executive, the General Secretary is the Chair of the Trustee Board. 

The three main roles of the Trustee Board are: 

  • To make sure everything we do benefits the students of LSE
  • To ensure that the Union is financially solvent
  • To ensure that everything we do is legally permissible 

Want to find out more about a Trustee Board position? Check out the official Government guide.

How can I influence the work of the Trustee Board?

You can run as a candidate in the elections, either for a Sabbatical Officer role or a part-time role. You can find out more by checking out our elections page.

You can put a question to any of the trustees by dropping an email to the Chair of Trustee Board, your current General Secretary.

Sabbatical Officer Trustees


Meet the trustees


  • James Relf
  • Sarah Onifade
  • Chris Adewoye

Student Trustees

  • Linea Petrela Paiement
  • Vaidahi Sharma
  • Helen Bourne

External Trustee

  • Onkyeka Aghatise
  • Marie-Helene Blattmann Lenoir
  • Robel Iyassu

Trustee Board Meetings


Explore this section: