Skip to content
Every year you get the chance to elect five sabbatical officers (paid) and eleven part-time (voluntary) officers that champion the needs of students at LSE.

Democracy Committee

Your Democracy Committee has been elected to make sure that democractic processes at LSESU run smoothly and are open to everyone. These include everything from Student Members' Meetings to Elections.

What does the committee do?

The committee decides the dates of elections and referenda, chairs the Student Members' Meetings and acts as the main point of contact for students who have questions about how to get involved with the democratic system. The Returning Officer also sits on the Democracy Committee and deals with any issues or complaints during LSESU’s elections.

Your Democracy Committee 2021-22

Cece Briscoe

Cece Briscoe


Student Members' Meetings Chair

Jack Dhillon

Jack Dhillon


Returning Officer

Tevz Sitar

TevŽ Sitar


Owen Henderson


Get in touch

If you have a question or query for your Democracy Committee, drop them an email on

Democracy Dates 2021-22

Michaelmas Term Elections

  • 4 October, 10am: Nominations Open
  • 14 October, 5pm: Nominations Close
  • 19 October, midday: Manifesto deadline
  • 20 October: Campaigning Begins
  • TBC: Candidate Question Time
  • 25-28 October: Voting
  • 28 October: The Results

Lent Term Elections

  • 28 February, 10am: Nominations Open
  • 10 March, 5pm: Nominations Close
  • 15 March, midday: Manifesto deadline
  • 16 March: Campaigning Begins
  • TBC: Candidate Question Time
  • 21-24 March: Voting
  • 24 March: The Results
  • Student Members' Meetings

    Student Members' Meetings are scheduled for the following dates and times this academic year:

  • 14 October, 5:30pm
  • 11 November, 5:30pm
  • 9 December, 5:30pm
  • 27 January, 5:30pm
  • 16 February, 5:30pm
  • 10 March, 5:30pm
  • 31 March, 5:30pm
  • 11 May, 5:30pm
  • 13 June, 5:30pm
  • Annual Student Members' Meeting
  • Date to be confirmed
  • Referenda voting weeks
  • If a referendum is called, voting will take place at the same time as either MT or LT elections, on either w/c 25 October, or w/c 21 March.